If you don’t want a record of webpages you’ve visited using Chrome, you can delete all or some of your browsing history. If you delete your browsing history, it’ll take effect on all devices where you’ve turned sync on and signed in to Chrome.
Your history will be removed from Chrome. Separately, you can also delete your Google search history from your account.[external_link_head]
Learn more about how to turn sync on or off in Chrome.
See your history
Clear your history
To delete your search history, learn about clearing activity saved in My Activity.[external_link offset=1]
Delete an item from your history
Remove an image from New Tab page
To see the sites you visit most, open a new tab. To remove an image, touch and hold it. Then, select Remove.
What your history page shows
Your History page shows the webpages you’ve visited on Chrome in the last 90 days. It doesn’t store Chrome pages you’ve visited like chrome://settings, pages you’ve visited in Incognito mode, or pages you’ve already deleted from your browsing history.
If you’re signed in to Chrome and syncing your history, then your History page shows webpages you’ve visited across all your synced devices for much longer. If you’re signed out of Chrome, your History page won’t show webpages across your other devices.
If you don’t want Chrome to save your browsing history at all, you can browse in private with Incognito mode.
Using a Chromebook at work or school? Your network administrator can turn off browsing history. If history is off, your History page won’t list webpages you’ve visited. Learn about using a managed Chrome device.[external_link offset=2]
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?